Three Part On-line Series for SO Coaches ~ Light it up! Mental Performance Readiness for World Games

Many highly successful athletes felt that they could have reached the top much sooner if they had worked on strengthening their mental skills earlier in their careers… Article – Mental Links to Excellence, Terry Orlick & John Partington

Ahead in the Game is am happy to announce with Special Olympics Canada, that we will be hosting a three part series to enhance Team Canada’s mental performance readiness for World Games.  So, mark the dates in your calendar!!

Mental Skills for Facilitating Optimal Performance & Experiences at 2015 World Games – March 4th, 2015 Time Zones (9:30 NFD /9pm Atlantic time /8pm Eastern/ 7pm Central /6pm Mountain/5pm Pacific)

  • Brief Mental Skills Tool Box review
  • How to avoid a common and costly mental performance mistake at World Games
  • Performance Profiling for the Mental Game
  • Practical strategies for building three key mental skills into training
    • Picture it Positive – strategies to build / improve visualization
    • Responsive Focus – improving focusing and re focusing ability
    • Activate – simple strategies for increasing intensity to optimal activation levels
  • Plans for Improvement
  • Hot spot on athlete and coach concerns

Positive Engagement and Improving our Second Response (to stress) May 7th, 2015 – Time Zones (9:30 NFD /9pm Atlantic time /8pm Eastern/ 7pm Central /6pm Mountain/5pm Pacific)

  • A brief overview on the stages of stress responses
  • How to improve and train better responses to common stressors
  • Expanding coping resources
  • How to avoid another common and costly mental performance mistake at World Games
  • A method for building competition plans & positive routines
  • Including mental components into pre-competition preparation

Management at Major Games & Bringing Closure and Lessons for the Future June 17, 2015  Time Zones (9:30 NFD /9pm Atlantic time /8pm Eastern/ 7pm Central /6pm Mountain/5pm Pacific)

  • Building in the P.P.R.R. Performance Development Cycle for a great week
  • An outline for leading positive, inspiring and constructive meetings with your team
  • Having a mentoring buddy system for improved performance and experiences
  • Mental skills review for athletes, coaches and mission staff
  • Dealing with common and uncommon needs
  • Bringing positive closure to your experience and drawing lessons for life

“Attitude is a choice.  You have to force yourself to concentrate on the positives.  Every champion and high achiever I’ve ever known had the discipline to substitute good attitude for bad attitude.”   Pat Summit

* please note the above are general outlines and may change slightly depending on needs expressed.

SO Canada Medals